Expanding Youth Mental Health Outreach Across Nova Scotia


At the recommendation of Adolescent Mental Heath expert Dr. Stan Kutcher, your Liberal government is expanding youth mental health outreach in communities across Nova Scotia, based on the CaperBase model that started in Cape Breton in 2009.

41 more schools in Northern and Western Nova Scotia have expanded services that will offer early intervention in schools in small towns and rural Nova Scotia.

Called the Adolescent Outreach Program, resources will focus on youth who are at risk for addictions and/or mental health issues. The specialized staff work with youth, families, schools, and other community partners to provide resources and mentoring to build resilience among middle and high school students, making sure they have the skills and supports necessary to handle challenges life may throw their way.

In some cases, the youth may be referred to other community agencies such as SchoolsPlus, Youth Outreach or Family Services, or services that can provide more complex interventions, such as NSHA’s Mental Health and Addictions Child and Adolescent Services.

Here is a list of school where the Adolescent Outreach Program has expanded with this announcement:

Northern Zone – 15 schools

Dr. W.A. MacLeod Consolidated, Stellarton

East Pictou Middle School, Sutherland’s River

Hants North Rural High School, Kennetcook

L’nu Sipuk Kina’Muokuom (LSK) School, Indian Brook

McCulloch Education Centre, Pictou

Parrsboro Regional High School, Parrsboro

Pictou Academy, Pictou

Pugwash District High School, Pugwash

River Hebert District School, River Hebert

South Colchester Academy, Brookfield

Tatamagouche Regional Academy, Tatamagouche

Thorburn Consolidated School, Thorburn

Uniacke District School, Mount Uniacke

West Colchester Consolidated School, Bass River

West Pictou Consolidated School, Lyons Brook


Western Zone – 26 schools

Annapolis West Education Centre, Annapolis Royal

Avon View High School, Windsor

Barrington High School, Barrington

Bayview Community School, Mahone Bay

Bluenose Academy, Lunenburg

Bridgetown Regional Community School (Grades 6-12 only), Bridgetown

Bridgewater Junior High, Bridgewater

Chester Area Middle School, Chester

Ecole Secondaire De Clare, Meteghan

Ecole Secondaire De Par-En-Bas, Tusket

Evangeline Middle School, New Minas

Forest Heights Community School, Chester Basin

Hebbville Junior High, Hebbville

Horton High School, Wolfville

Islands Consolidated, Freeport

Kings County Academy (Grades 6-8 only), Kentville

Mahone Bay Alternate School, Mahone Bay

Maple Grove Education Centre, Yarmouth

Middleton Regional High School, Middleton

New Germany Rural High School, New Germany

New Ross Consolidated, New Ross

Northeast Kings Education Centre, Canning

Parkview Education Centre, Bridgewater

St. Mary’s Bay Academy, Weymouth

West Hants Middle School, Newport

Yarmouth High, Yarmouth